Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

MAC OS X model problem

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TheBladeRPG, Aug 20, 2017.

1. TheBladeRPG

TheBladeRPG

Hello,

I'm new to Unity so im learning all from scratch and for learning purpose i built a demo game on a PC using some stuff from assets store.
    Up to here all fine, game is fine and a PC build works great.

I built a Mac OS X version from the PC and run it on a Mac, if all is fine, one model i got from assets store named "strong knight" (free) shows hallow, dark and a bit trasparent ! so its not showing correctly while on the PC version its show correctly.

i tried copy the project from the PC to Mac and build it again for Mac (both unity on PC and Mac are same version 2017.1.0f3). I get exactly the same problem, the character is hallow and dark in unity and in runtime.

I saw a solution on web saying i need rebuild the lights. I did that, it didnt solve the problem and it srcewed up the whole project, all scenes looked crapy now. so i deleted and restore from backup.

last try, i exported the project as a package from PC and import it in new project in Mac.
    Up to here in unity, the character show correctly but after building it, the Mac .app have a hallow dark character, the strange part, if i run the game in unity, the character shows correctly.

Up to here i dont know what to do and seek your help.

What is wrong with this character model not showing correctly on Mac ? (joined picture)

Thank you for your help

regards

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 22, 2017
  2. TheBladeRPG

TheBladeRPG

ok i figured out the problem:

in build setting need remove the check on "auto graphics API for MAC"
    a list will show up, need remove "Metal" and keep "OpenGLCre"

this fixed the problem for me

3. User340

User340