Search Unity

Mac App Store

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Moonjump, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. Axel-F

    Axel-F

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    224
    My "Age of Tribes" is 'ready for sale' as well! Great! Thanks to Unity and this thread.
     
  2. Randy-Edmonds

    Randy-Edmonds

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,122
    Zen of Clover was approved and is now "Ready for Sale".
     
  3. bakno

    bakno

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Blast and Solitaire were approved. But Chess was rejected for the following reason...

    It was signed and packaged as the others, so we don't know what is wrong here.
     
  4. Tetrad

    Tetrad

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    45
    Just a little heads up for other people with the 3.x beta

    I had a little helper method in my game that basically added an OnDestroy method to monobehaviours (quite useful for cleaning stuff up by the way) by simply replacing all my Destroy calls with a static method that broadcasted an "OnDestroy" message.

    public static void DestroyGameObject( GameObject go )
    {
    go.BroadcastMessage( "OnDestroy", SendMessageOptions.DontRequireReceiver );
    Object.Destroy( go );
    }

    However, I was having some issues where this would cause Unity to hang. It took me a while to figure out why, and as it turns out OnDestroy is now a Monobehaviour method itself. This is a good thing as far as I'm concerned, but it did cause me some headache with trying to figure out why my stuff wasn't working (OnDestroy getting called twice when it shouldn't have been).
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  5. JGeorge

    JGeorge

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    @MantasP Sent you a PM reguarding Beta Build. Oh, and I forgot to ask, we are running Unity Pro and Unity iOS Advanced. Will this build work for that?
     
  6. minevr

    minevr

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,018
    Mac store opened.....
     
  7. dock

    dock

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    605
    I would love to know which Unity3D games are currently available. Is there a complete list of titles anywhere?
    It's a shame there's no web version of the Mac App Store, like Steam or even iTunes.
     
  8. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    This build (3.x beta) should not be used for building iPhone applications.
     
  9. JGeorge

    JGeorge

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    @MantasP Thanks, did you get a chance to read my PM?
     
  10. Tetrad

    Tetrad

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    45
  11. spacebuddy

    spacebuddy

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Posts:
    30
  12. Lab013

    Lab013

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Posts:
    405
    I'm quite curious as to how well your apps are doing on the app store.
     
  13. Thomas-Lund

    Thomas-Lund

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    465
    Seems a bunch of us are doing rather OK. Smack Hockey is in the 60'ies in US top-100 + featured as staff favorite. So lets see tomorrow how that translates into $ :-D
     
  14. ezone

    ezone

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Posts:
    331
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  15. Aiursrage2k

    Aiursrage2k

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    4,835
    Wow very cool. Congrats guys!
     
  16. Soundguy

    Soundguy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Star Shipping was just rejected due to silly naming convention problems.
    I've changed the info.plist - but now application loader refuses to upload my app under the claim that
    "Your application must install to '/Applications'".
    As far as i know, using
    productbuild --component "Star Shipping Inc..app" "/Applications" --sign....
    should have done that.
    when i double click the .pkg file it indeed doesn't install it to my applicaions.
    i don't think i did anyhing different than in previous submits. can anyone help me figure out what i'm doing wrong?
     
  17. Soundguy

    Soundguy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    wow, that error was due to a space and a . in the executable or bundle name. now i'm getting a whole new error.
    bad characther content for element XPath...
     
  18. seon

    seon

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    1,441
    Yeah, the rankings are moving around a bit, which leads me to believe that the overall sales number are low enough that a few sales here and there can effect the top 50 ranks buy a few spots. I would *LOVE* to be proven wrong of course :)

    Congrats to all devs that got their Unity games on the store for the opening day.
     
  19. Chimp Studios

    Chimp Studios

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    10
  20. Thomas-Lund

    Thomas-Lund

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    465
    Yeah - all the shifting around also makes me think that actual sales are not going to make us rich over night. But lets see in a few hours when stats arrive!!!

    Grats none the less to everyone

    /Thomas
     
  21. andererandre

    andererandre

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Posts:
    683
    Are you guys also experiencing the issue that Unity forgets to launch in fullscreen mode even though you set "Screenmanager Is Fullscreen mode" to 1? I am using the Mac App Store beta build and even if I use the Unity launcher and check "fullscreen mode" he forgets it on the next startup and I have to check it again. It's pretty much impossible to start the application in fullscreen mode, my current workaround is to check for "resolution == max resolution" and set fullscreen mode manually on every startup, but that's just an ugly workaround.
     
  22. azeitler

    azeitler

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    162
    I ran into the same issue. I came up with the following fix:
    Set the values of the screen manager manually via PlayerPrefs and then LOCK the PlayerPrefs file before quitting the app. That way you can write your own correct values and block unity from writing the wrong ones afterwards.
    This code uses BundleID which is a string-value of the Apps Bundle Identifier (in my case com.dopanic.productxy). This is used to get the path to the plist-File in which the PlayerPrefs are stored.

    Here's the code:

    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. string SettingsDataPath = System.Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("HOME") + "/Library/Preferences/" + BundleID + ".plist";
    3. PlayerPrefs.SetInt("Screenmanager Is Fullscreen mode", Screen.fullScreen ? 1 : 0);
    4. PlayerPrefs.SetInt("Screenmanager Resolution Height", Screen.height);
    5. PlayerPrefs.SetInt("Screenmanager Resolution Width", Screen.width);
    6. PlayerPrefs.SetInt("locked", 1); //just an additional value to distinguish unity-written settings from manual-written ones
    7.  
    8. try {
    9.     System.IO.File.Open(SettingsDataPath, System.IO.FileMode.Open, System.IO.FileAccess.Read, System.IO.FileShare.None);
    10. }
    11. catch { }
    12.  
    13. Application.Quit();
    14.  
    Basically I call this in an OnApplicationQuit event (but I do some additional code magic to catch any CMD-Q-triggered Quit events, the code handling this is not included here).

    This is one of the dirtiest workarounds I have ever done. But it does the trick.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011
  23. FINN

    FINN

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Hmm.. I've got 3.2 beta crashes when trying to open any scene. Before this it's normally opened and builded on 3.0 version, but game was rejected by Apple:
    Any thoughts?
     
  24. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    Please submit a bug report with your repro attached to it.
    Thanks!
     
  25. FINN

    FINN

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for a quick reply - where can I do this?
     
  26. andeeeee

    andeeeee

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8,768
    Welcome to the forum, FINN!

    You can launch the bug reporter from within Unity (menu: Help > Report A Bug).
     
  27. FINN

    FINN

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks, already submitted. It's very important for me now...
     
  28. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    Please post you bug number to accelerate the things..
     
  29. Axel-F

    Axel-F

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    224
    Hi, it seems my second app got "lucky". It got rejected because writing to "~/Library/Logs/Unity/Player.log". It seems I'm the only one with this issue? I'm still using Unity 2.6 for this game.
     
  30. FINN

    FINN

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Case 388220
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
  31. Thomas-Lund

    Thomas-Lund

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    465
    FINN - dont post links to the bugtracker. Only case numbers.

    Else everyone will be able to see your history of all bugs, potentially see confidential info like usernames or passwords that you send in the bug report etc.

    /Thomas
     
  32. FINN

    FINN

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks Thomas for heads up.. Link removed:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
  33. Pekka

    Pekka

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    UnityPlayer fix (http://files.unity3d.com/jonas/UnityPlayer.zip) for Unity 2.6 users seems to be no longer available. Any hope to get the link repaired or is there new address for the file? Libmono dll link was still operational.
    Thanks.
     
  34. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    Fixed. Now it should be back on-line.
     
  35. lesfundi

    lesfundi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    628
    i have several apps ready to upload for the Macstore. I am on version 3.1. How could I get on the beta version?
     
  36. Quietus2

    Quietus2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2,058
    There is another guy who did that the other day. I pm'd him letting him know his Unity Pro serial number was contained in one of his tickets. He hasn't read my pm yet. :(
     
  37. andererandre

    andererandre

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Posts:
    683
    I can haz link plx? :D :D :D
     
  38. Aekar

    Aekar

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks for the support with the beta build.

    To help others with a few things:

    Resources:
    - you must follow this blog for guidelines: http://technology.blurst.com/unity-games-and-mac-app-store/
    - you may also follow the official guidelines here: http://developer.apple.com/devcenter/mac/documents/submitting.html
    - I myself did not have the "productbuild" command available, you have to download it here:
    http://developer.apple.com/devcente.../ios_sdk_4.2__final/application_tools_1.1.dmg


    I had to replace the .icns icon file built with Unity with a 512x512 PNG picture, opened on the Mac and saved as the new ICNS with the right size and format.

    I had to remove all external files accesses, and include them all in the .app package, in the Resources folder.
    It works.


    But I had a day of nightmares, as I am still trying to upload the package to iTunes Connect.
    I need help here.

    The last problem I am stuck with is:
    When adding the app with the Application Loader (step "verifying metadata", or so it seems), I have the error:

    I wonder what this line 6 column 66 refers to.
    I wonder what this error might refer to.
    I wonder if one of you had this problem and may be of help.

    I have tried to move the lines around in the Info.plist file, to see if this changes the error report (that is, provides another line for the error, etc), to no avail. I have of course checked all metadata and they seem to be adequate.
     
  39. lesfundi

    lesfundi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    628
    Can you explain a bit more about this?

    So, this all works with Unity Beta and not unity 3.1? correct?
     
  40. Aekar

    Aekar

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    It works with the specific Unity Beta mentioned on page 7 of this topic.
    But I had to modify some of my program specifications.

    My program is a game with many high resolution 2D GUI pictures, something Unity has a problem with if I have them all included in the Editor (eats too much memory). For this reason, my program works by integrating them dynamically in the code, with WWW and LoadImageIntoTexture, targeting an external folder where all the PNG picture files are. Having them into the Resources folder right from the start doesn't work as well as the Editor itself cannot hold the memory load, but the External folder and the dynamic accesses work on PC and Mac.


    If I build the game, I have an .app file and the External folder where all the pictures are. The thing works well inside the game, but Apple requires us to use a single .app file, not an .app plus other files around. I had to find a solution to this to go on.


    After some time delving around the issue I found that it can the solution to this is:

    - Move all the files of the external folder into the /Content/Resources folder *inside* the .app file.
    - Change my WWW target so as to have something like "file://" + Application.dataPath + "/Resources/" + myFileURL


    But I am still stuck with this thing:


    When adding the app with the Application Loader (step "verifying metadata", or so it seems), I have the error:

     
  41. Aekar

    Aekar

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    I found what was the problem.
    Apple really needs to clear out its error messages.

    Know then than:
    ERROR ITMS-4000

    ... is generated when you have a .pkg file with spaces in the name.
    You must remove all spaces from the name of your .pkg file.
     
  42. voidmaystorm

    voidmaystorm

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    89
    Hi guys,

    i finally managed to get my game ready for the mac app store and submitted on January 8th.

    well, now its the 18th, and the game is still "waiting for review"???

    how long did your games take to be approved?


    any feedback or info welcome,

    greetings from austria,
    thomas
     
  43. lesfundi

    lesfundi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    628
    are you all using the beta version of unity 3 for this to work?
     
  44. voidmaystorm

    voidmaystorm

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    89
    hi fundi,

    i used 2.6.1 with the fixed player, but the game is still waiting for review ;-/
    but the upload worked perfect, at least the application loader did not find any problems

    greetings, thomas
     
  45. spacebuddy

    spacebuddy

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Posts:
    30
    On the apple forums, someone mentioned it could take up to 1 month to get reviewed.

    I think apple needs to hire more peeps. :)
     
  46. aerende

    aerende

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Posts:
    316
    The build of my game that I made with Unity 3.2.0b3 for "PC and MAC standalone" shows first a Graphics Configuration Screen, on which I click "Play!" and then it shows the first menu screen, but when I start the game playing from the first menu screen, the display disappears. I can hear the game playing, but there is no display. The game works fine on iPhone and iPad.

    I have "Windowed" checked on the Graphics Configuration Screen, but that doesn't seem to affect it. Has the screen moved off the Mac display? Is there something I can do to get the game to display on the Mac console?
     
  47. Phil™

    Phil™

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    73
    Sorry if this has been answered before, but can someone tell me the correct path to write saved game data to now? I'm guessing Application.dataPath is in there somewhere, but not entirely sure and I can't find it on the Apple site either. Having said that, I haven't subscribed to the Mac developers group yet so perhaps that's why. Is it the same as the iPhone or what?
     
  48. Jaun7707

    Jaun7707

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    I hope so too, right now the only thing to do is use Steam which I hear is pretty good on new developers. Ill be moving there as well as the app store if I can do well with the iPhone first.
     
  49. bakno

    bakno

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Hello Phil.

    Unity's preferences load and save are well accepted by the store. And if you need to save further information Apple suggests to use ~/Library/Application Support/Your ID
     
  50. kag

    kag

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    RE: application Loader requires codesign and productbuild language to be used to sign and archive apps before being uploaded.

    Will someone please give me precise info on how to access the codesign and productbuild commands.
    I know the language to use, but are the commands entered from within someplace in XCode, or from someplace else?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011