Search Unity

Lost my programmer 1/4 through development. What to do?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by theANMATOR2b, Jun 15, 2017.

?

To de-scope or not to de-scope?

Poll closed Jul 5, 2017.
  1. Cantankerously de-scope down to bare bones

4.3%
  2. Optimistically de-scope with plans for second game

4.3%
  3. Positively select another/smaller design

17.4%
  4. Cautiously reach/look out for a new programmer partner

73.9%
  1. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Hey everybody

I’m looking for a little input from anyone who has ever had to CONSIDER modifying the design/scope of a game to overcome losing a developer, and anyone else who has an opinion on the subject.

I wrote a wall of text but a short – half wall – summary will be easier to digest and respond to.

I recently had to split ways with my programmer. The game I’m working on is approximately a 1 year development cycle at its current scope.

Special Note: Anyone who doesn’t already know, I’m not a programmer – I’m a Playmaker using artist. Oh and I’m not full-time indie either. I can put in approximately 20-25 development hours per week.

We WERE roughly 4 months in with a solid build of the core mechanics. We presented at a game festival and received positive feedback. We also created web builds and posted in Feedback Friday. The feedback from all avenues confirmed we WERE on the right track to move forward with the next phase of development. Next phase being a vertical slice to setup all the systems of the game and create a 85% polished slice that would be representative of the entire game. Time frame for this vertical slice was to release again in September.

Now – that’s not happening in the time frame I had planned.

I’m confident I can recreate the core game in Playmaker in about 3-4 weeks.
    With the need to recreate the core, I don’t see me getting to a releasable vertical slice until sometime in November.