Search Unity

Learning Store Item Pricing

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by vanshvyas, Apr 11, 2017.

1. vanshvyas

vanshvyas

Hello Designers,
    i am posting these thread to get some knowledge or idea about the store items pricing in games .
    As i am a fresher game designer i need to know that how to pricing of the items are decided in game.
    Below there is a list of some thing i want to know :-

1)store item pricing between coins(in game) and Real money.
    2)Store item pricing for the different items in game which can be bought through coins(in game currency).

Thanks .

2. Deleted User

Deleted User

You can't just magically know how much items should cost. There're million of factors to consider, like how easy to get these items, how easy to get money, is there a way to lose items, do they break with time or not, can they become obselete with time/progression or they're not leveled and every item can be useful at any time to any player, etc. Since you asked about real life currency to in-game money, it means game is multiplayer (or very very strange singleplayer), so is there player-market in game or NPC shops or both? In case player market, then players will decide themselves, you don't need to bother with prices, just like in real life. The easiest approach is usually - create some formula which will use item stats and usefulness and give you price in result, but it doesn't always work, it all depends on complexity of those stats and game itself. In other words it's all very personal, there's no universal formula.

vanshvyas likes this.
  3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

This question entirely depends on your game's design and your goals with regard to these store items.