Search Unity

ISSUE: Unity Manual Script Examples Incomplete

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Mystic_Warrior, Jul 26, 2017.

1. Mystic_Warrior

Mystic_Warrior

OK... I am new to Unity but with over 30 years of of Programming Experience I can usually figure out most Programming Languages so understanding C# is not difficult.

That said, understanding Unity Software is like landing on Mars with only basic "map" which only one big "X" for your "goal" and some general instructions of "read the manual".

I am a "learn by doing" type of Programmer, in that I start with a basic "Hello World" type of Program and move on from there, exploring new Commands, Functions, Program Abilities, etc.

While "Tutorials" are nice, for me sometimes they are too basic, and often don't answer other related questions that might arise.

So... here I am... asking some "noob questions" in hopes someone can pull an answer from the murky fog of Basic Unity Software Knowledge and help myself and perhaps others whom feel the same way.

SO LETS TACKLE A BASIC QUESTION - "How To Display Position of 0, 0, 0 (x, y, z)?"

1. I found this Script Example: here
    2. It uses the Print Function which is described here
    This is where the Title of this Thread becomes apparent - that is - there is no complete working example in the Manual with instructions on how to properly use. Do I assign the example script to an Object, or Child-Object and if so where is a "Working Example" showing a complete C# Script and step by step instructions.

Simply using the Camera, then Adding a Script Component called "
    ExampleClass", then Copy-Paste the Script Example in MonoDevelop and then clicking on Play [►] does not do anything. (Ok I will admit that I am most likely not using that C# coding correctly but that is my point).