Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Is publishing for a "variety" of devices' Magic?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lunaticCoder, Jul 16, 2017.

1. lunaticCoder

lunaticCoder

Okay so I'm a newbie and just finished making my game (Hurray), but found out that the resolution I designed for won't fit on the rest of the world's devices, But hopefully, found out that google Accepts Multiple APK's and all I need to do is to design my game for multiple resolutions, that means I have to scale a few hundred UI, Sprites etc, (Oh God what about my beloved Hand?), and to top it off, Apple does not support Multiple APK's.

Okay so back to the Question, How do you guys make your games run on sooo many devices, is it magic, if not then how do you do it?
    Please guide me, I'm in the deepest, darkest pit of Game Development.

I think I'll be fine redesigning to publish for the GooglePlayStore, WTH should I to publish on the AppStore?

2. orb

orb

Yes, making things run on vastly different devices is a bit of magic :)

On Android you can use different secondary APKs, but on iOS you don't do it at the macro level - you include different textures for different device classes and the end-user gets only the assets they need. There's supposed to be some support for app-thinning and on-demand resources in Unity now. Different asset bundles for different sizes is the way to go there.

There are many posts on these forums about setting up for scalability. If your game is 3D you only have a little UI to worry about, but 2D games need more work. Dig into the 2D section. At least the GUI in Unity now has options to design scalable interfaces.