Search Unity

Is "Got in Online Mode" flag tracking per item a good way to go to prevent cheating about items?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by No3371, Feb 19, 2017.

1. No3371

No3371

I'm new to game design and is considering a lot of mechanics of a multiplayer (or multiplayer-based and server-based mixed) game, the topic of this post is about "Preventing ineligible items circulate in player community".

Let's say, a game which can run in Online Mode / Offline Mode, players can only meet and interact with each other in Online Mode, and so have the chance to access others' items (e.g. examining item detail, trading, using items on others) only in online mode.

Every item instance has a flag "Got In Online Mode", and this will be set to true only when a player get a item when connected to server and successfully uploaded the item data.

(Behind the scenes we separately count 2 numbers for every stackable item type that player owned, which are Got In Online Mode or not. )

When playerA try to trade with playerB, they can only transfer items that are Got In Online Mode, otherwise they can't even see it, because only validated (by server) items' data can be sent to the other client.

Is this a usable pattern? What kind of technique can break this protection?

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Why not completely break online mode from offline mode? Worked well for games like Diablo.

3. No3371

No3371

I'm planning a rouge-lite that happens in a world that consist of static sites (Cities, towns, etc.) which act as gather point, and "Wild" area which people go inside and generate their own level instance to explore or fight.

In order to meet people, players have to visit static sites and join online (there are always at least 1 instance of each static sites running on server)... So it's not just "singleplayer" or "multiplayer".

Though, this is just a fresh concept, I'll be glad if anyone can share thoughts about this idea! :)

4. PatrickHedges

PatrickHedges