Search Unity

  1. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

Instantiate an object the same position as the Touch.Begain???

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Sam_Unity, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. Sam_Unity

    Sam_Unity

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,

    I developing on IOS unity pro, and I have problem with instantiating an gameObject at the same postion when I have my fingure at the screen, I tried everything it does not really work the sample code is:


    if(Input.touchCount ==1){

    touch_n1 = Input.GetTouch(0);

    if (touch_n1.phase == TouchPhase.Began)
    {

    I nstantiate(carPrefap, touch.position , Quaternion.identity);


    }

    The result of that the GameObject is instantiated somewere else which is far a way from the touch position? Why? any help please???
     
  2. nikolic

    nikolic

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Posts:
    162
  3. Sam_Unity

    Sam_Unity

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    Yah but to use : Vector3 p = camera.ScreenToWorldPoint(new Vector3(100, 100, camera.nearClipPlane));

    I need to have vector3 in the param of "ScreenToWorldPoint" function while the touch.positon is vector2, how to solve this ???
     
  4. nikolic

    nikolic

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Posts:
    162
  5. Sam_Unity

    Sam_Unity

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    I have already done that, but still the object is not instantiated at the same position as the touch position, it drives me crazy sorry to say that ???
     
  6. Sam_Unity

    Sam_Unity

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    if (touch_n1.phase == TouchPhase.Began)
    {
    //Debug.Log("Begain excuted !!!");

    //if(createItem){

    Vector3 p = camera.ScreenToWorldPoint(touch_n1.position);


    Instantiate(carPrefap, p , Quaternion.identity);
    }

    Shouldn't that do the work???
     
  7. Johnny-Photon

    Johnny-Photon

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    84
    Are you taking the position of your camera into account?

    var p : Vector3 = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (new Vector3 (pointerPosition.x,pointerPosition.y,-(Camera.main.transform.position.z + Gun.transform.position.z)));
    var delta : Vector3 = p - Gun.transform.position;

    Here I'm calculating a vector so I can determine the angle relative to my cannon, but I would think you would have to use the camera Z.

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. login4donald

    login4donald

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Posts:
    464
    Johnny Photon's example should work, the camera should actually be a variable.
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. var cam : Camera; // the camera in inspector if not the main camera
    3.  
    4. function Start () { //or do this if is main camera
    5. var cam = Camera.main.camera; //the .camera may not be needed
    6. }
    7. function Update () {
    8. if (touch_n1.phase == TouchPhase.Began) {
    9. if(createItem){
    10. }
    11. }
    12. }
    13.  
    Or if you're using the main camera then use johnny's example.
     
  9. Sam_Unity

    Sam_Unity

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    HI login4donald I tried your solution but it did not work ... and johnny's example I could not figure out " Gun.transform.position", because all I have is Camera in the scene which the script is attached too, and the cube which I want to ray cast to from the camera point, all I need is to get the position and instantiating prefab but is like it never works no matter what I do or change !!! and I'm about to give up!!! So I hope there is concret solution or script that solves the problem.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  10. Johnny-Photon

    Johnny-Photon

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    84
    I should have just edited it. I thought you would just drop the gun position.
    I haven't tried this on a device but it works with the mouse in the editor and creates a cube prefab any time you click on the screen.

    Code (csharp):
    1. #pragma strict
    2.  
    3. private static var useMouse : boolean;
    4. static var pointerPosition : Vector2;
    5. var cubePreFab : GameObject;
    6.  
    7.  
    8. function Start () {
    9. }
    10.  
    11. function Update () {
    12.  
    13. var touch : Touch;
    14.  
    15.  
    16.    
    17. // get cursor position
    18.     if(useMouse) pointerPosition = Input.mousePosition;
    19.     else
    20.     {
    21.         if (Input.touchCount > 0)
    22.         {
    23.         touch = Input.touches[0];
    24.         if(touch.phase == TouchPhase.Began || touch.phase == TouchPhase.Moved)
    25.             pointerPosition = touch.position;
    26.         }
    27.     }
    28.    
    29. // see if we have an input event   
    30.     if ((Input.GetButtonDown("Fire1")  useMouse))  
    31.     {
    32.         CreateObject();
    33.     }
    34.     else if (Input.touchCount > 0  touch.phase == TouchPhase.Ended)
    35.     {
    36.         CreateObject();
    37.     }
    38. }
    39.  
    40. function CreateObject()
    41. {
    42.     var p : Vector3 = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint (new Vector3 (pointerPosition.x,pointerPosition.y,-Camera.main.transform.position.z));
    43.     Instantiate(cubePreFab, p , Quaternion.identity);
    44. }
    You only need to use the camera position Z.
    Hope this helps.
     
  11. Sam_Unity

    Sam_Unity

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    Hey guys I have managed it out with johnny's way, johnny you rock man, thank you very much.
     
  12. Johnny-Photon

    Johnny-Photon

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    84
    You are welcome. Glad I could help!