Search Unity

Increase Size of Plane due to head movemet

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by accom, Apr 12, 2017.

1. accom

accom

Hello,

I am very new to Unity and all the programming area. I have a HTC Vive and want to perform a simple example project.
    There is a plane with a texture in front of me, like a TV screen.
    When I lean my head forward, I wand this plane to increase in size (e.g. triple size).
    Upon leaning my head back into normal position I want the plane to reduce its size to normal.
    Thus using this movement the person can examine the texture on the plane in more detail, when he/she wants.
    How can I make such a program possible?

Thanks for your help.

Accom

2. SiliconDroid

SiliconDroid

Such a scheme would be unsettling in VR; it would break spatial coherence as perceived by the user. The screen is such a large (and contextually important) object in the virtual world that it becomes a worldspace reference; the user would not feel the world was real.

But if you must try it then the simplest way would be to change the virtual screen scale depending on cameras distance from the screen, put this in the screens update:

Code (CSharp):
    2.         float fDistance = (oCamera.transform.position - this.transform.position).magnitude;
    3.         float fScale = ( 5 - fDistance ) * 2;//TWEAK NUMBERS TO GAIN DESIRED SCALING
    4.         this.transform.localScale = new Vector3(fScale, fScale, fScale);
    Note: A better way to achieve your desired effect would be to keep all geometry locked in worldspace and just change what's displayed on the screen by manipulating UV texture etc. But even that is unsettling because of the contextual importance of what is displayed on the screen.

Probably the best way would be a quantized zoom of just the screens display, like on bladerunner (enhance... enhance...). So have like 5 zoom levels that you snap between depending on head ZPos.