Search Unity

Ideas for planetary invasion mechanics for a 4x space opera.

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Dannohawk, Aug 11, 2017.

1. Dannohawk

Dannohawk

Hi guys and girls,

Disclaimer here, I'm totally new to unity and I'm slowly working my way through all the tutorials and have been busy learning from everyone's mistakes, thanks for all the advice. My first games are going to be very small and simple. This is just a motivational dream game exercise, I know I'm not going to have the skills to make anything like this for years and possibly not ever.

But I'd love to make a turn based space 4x game, with only two main very distinct factions. My spin would be to make all the characters tangible entities, people with stats and personalities which have a massive effect on the word and say a war fleets performance. Capturing or killing these characters would lead to some compelling choices, and profundity effect the protagonists. A militaristic General may be humiliated and depressed at being captured, but if he were tortured for information it may boast his resolve apon rescue. Star Wars Rebellion did this poorly and I loved it.

My theoretical hurdle is that in all the 4x space games I've played planetary invasions are deeply unsatisfying. Invading a planet should take more than a turn right? Or is that going to bore the player, would the feet bombard the planets surface or use it's fighters to help? Or would a Civ style system with units duelling one by one with plenty defence modifiers work better?

And ideas would be very interesting, Cheers.

JoeStrout likes this.
  2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Over the past 10 years I've rarely played any 4x games, but this part of your concept sounds very interesting. Would make me take a second/third look - if this was a core arc in the game.

3. RockoDyne

RockoDyne