Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

I wrote an article on how to handle motivation and how to finish things

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tomicz, Feb 13, 2017.

1. tomicz

tomicz

Hi there,

I am a fellow game developer just like you, I write content for freelancers (gamedevs) and I want to share my experience that can help you to finish what you started. Text in written more in general than game dev way, but still it's very useful for everyone, no matter what is your industry. It can help artists, writers, programmers, anyone.

This is the link to the text http://tomicz.com/index.php/2017/02/13/motivation-is-overrated-start-doing-work/

Darko

cyberpunk likes this.
  2. HiddenMonk

HiddenMonk

Its not finishing things I need help with, but starting them.

Sure, if you see your game as one giant project then you will indeed mainly have an issue with finishing it, but I see my game as a bunch of tiny projects such as; a weapon system, character controller, user input, UI, Localization, custom components, etc...
    I have trouble planning each of those small projects. Theres a bunch of stuff needed and it gets overwhelming. I try to break them down even more, but things rely on eachother, making it so I need to keep the whole picture in mind. I think about the future of what I will need. In fact, I used to think about what I "might" need, but that ended up in wasted work and over complications, so now I am kinda in the middle by thinking of what I do want, but might not need immediately.