Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved I don't understand Unity's multiplayer pricing model.Please Help!

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Red_Kay, Jun 9, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Red_Kay

Red_Kay

So I am new to games networking, in fact, this will be my first time and that's why I didn't want to use any other networking solutions. So I have made my game fully in offline currently and chose to go with UNET for multiplayer. It's a CS:GO inspired game with all that matchmaking and S***. So I went on to https://unity3d.com/services/multiplayer to check out their pricing model but I can't understand it properly so here's the questions.

1) What is that $119.93 for 100 CCU for? Is it for something like photon cloud?
    2) What is that $0.49 / GB for? Is it if I only use their matchmaking service?

I want to host my own server anyway and don't want to use anything like photon cloud. But would like to use their matchmaking service if there's any. So, in this case, I will only have to pay for using their matchmaking service right i.e. $0.49/gb that too will be calculated for the time the matchmaking service is being used, right?

Thanks for your time! :)

Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
    hickna likes this.
  2. voltage

voltage

100 CCU is 100 active users at all times during the month. For instance, a game I play called 'Reign of Kings' averages 700 concurrent users. 700 online typically at all times on average a month. (If I'm inaccurate in any angle, please correct me.)

$0.49/gb is the amount of bandwidth taken up by messages being sent from Clients to the Server. Every gb of bandwidth used by Unity's Relay Service will cost you 49 cents USD. That could get very expensive at a large user base.