Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

htmlTexture plugin

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by bliprob, May 15, 2007.

1. bliprob

bliprob

Hi everyone, total Unity newbie here. This is my first post here.

Recently we acquired a Unity Pro license and I began to experiment with porting some of our work from TGE to Unity. One of the requirements was to display an animated Flash swf file in a texture.

So, I did that. Starting from the TexturePlugin sample, I have created a plugin that creates an offscreen webview, loads it from a URL, and copies the bitmap to an OpenGL texture every update. Animated SWFs play well, and since it's using webkit, it uses the real Flash plugin and supports Flash video and all actionscript (unlike GameSWF which supports a limited subset). And since it's just an HTML viewer, you can load HTML into the texture too.

Here are a couple of pictures:

You can see it's picking up my local google cookies. (Yes, the scrollbars can be hidden.) And...

Since we're new to Unity, I have no idea if this would to interesting or useful to others. If there is interest, we would be happy to make a release for community.

2. aaronsullivan

aaronsullivan

Very cool work. People have been requesting this in the past.

Just to clarify. What kind of prerequisites will the user have for this functionality? Will it work for Windows?

ankakusu and anuraganand like this.
  3. garyhaus

garyhaus

OMG yes!!! Please post this! It could be HUGELY useful! Thank you so much in advance!

Gary

ankakusu likes this.
  4. forestjohnson

forestjohnson

Wow thats really cool. people have been clamoring for this for a While.

5. AaronC

AaronC

Thats stunning! Well done man, you nailed something really cool there.
    AC

6. Lallander

Lallander

Shame it will be a pro only feature :(