1. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Reddit AMA with Adam Myhill on Cinemachine, Thurs July 27 - 10AM PT. More info.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

How to create caves?

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by Ted-Chirvasiu, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Ted-Chirvasiu

    Ted-Chirvasiu

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Posts:
    381
    Hello!I'm wondering how can i create a cave inside the unity terrain....I use 3ds max 2011 as modeling software,but i wanna create the terrain in unity.So,as i do that,i noticed that if i want to have like a little space inside,i can't create it :(
    I can create the whole cave in 3ds max,but then how can i make at least the opening trough the unity terrain?Somehow i gotta chop some polygons from it / find a way to digg horrizontally,which i don't think it's possible because it uses height map :(:(:(:(:(:(



    Sorry for my english.
     
  2. ivanzu

    ivanzu

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    2,067
    download car tutorial and there you will see tunel that is done in 3d program so they only way to do cave is in 3d modeling program just export your terrain to 3dsmax and make cave in 3ds max:)
     
  3. MrSt3v3n999

    MrSt3v3n999

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Mabey you could try getting some sort of voxel based terrain working, Ive seen people do it before in unity 3D