Search Unity

How to check if BB device has physical keyboard?

Discussion in 'BlackBerry' started by JaredM, Sep 22, 2013.

1. JaredM

JaredM

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Unity and I am working on a multi-platform project and Blackberry is one of the target platforms. Currently in my code when checking for input I am using the mobile preprocessor defines to return input from the touch screens and accelerometer, instead of the mouse and keyboard for PC. My question is, is there an easy way to determine if the Blackberry device had a physical keyboard? I would like to use keyboard buttons on the Q10 and Q5 to make things easier on the smaller screen.

Sorry if this has been asked somewhere already, I looked and didn't see anything.

Thanks,

Jared

2. AlexThibodeau

AlexThibodeau

Unity Technologies

I'll take a look at the code but I think we might have missed that! Please submit a bug so it can be addressed asap!

Thanks,
    Alex

3. JaredM

JaredM

Hi,

Thanks for your answer. It's been a few days since I checked this thread. I will submit a big but I'm not sure where I go to do that?

Thanks,

Jared

4. AlexThibodeau

AlexThibodeau

Unity Technologies

5. pgarcia

pgarcia

As a workaround, couldn't you assume that there is always a keyboard? If the device is touchscreen it won't matter, and if the device has a keyboard, you could use specific keys to do what you want.

I did a quick test on a Q5, moving a cube around using the following code:

Code (csharp):
    1.         if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.A))
    2.         {
    3.             Vector3 position = this.transform.position;
    4.             position.x--;
    5.             this.transform.position = position;
    6.         }
    7.          if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.D))
    8.         {
    9.             Vector3 position = this.transform.position;
    10.             position.x++;
    11.             this.transform.position = position;
    12.         }