Search Unity

How to change color of object so host/clients can view it?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by stockhouse50, Jul 20, 2017.

1. stockhouse50

stockhouse50

Hi, I am very new to the networking in Unity. I have players spawn in as the host and the rest as clients. They each spawn in using the same prefab but give each player their own color. Now when I try to spawn a flag into the game, each player can view it, but I cannot change the color of the flag for either the host or the clients.

What are the steps needed to do this? and is this the correct line when trying to the change the color : Flag.GetComponent<Renderer>().material.color = flagColor; //flagColor set to Color.yellow ?

Thanks.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2017
  2. TwoTen

TwoTen

Send a message to the server that instructs it to send a message to the clients that instructs them to change the color.
    Command and Rpc's are the way to go.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2017
  3. stockhouse50

stockhouse50

Hi, I tried something like this where the GameManager calls a method from the script FlagSpawn which is attached to an empty Game Object called FlagSpawner, but it doesn't work. Neither line in the code -> Flag.GetComponent<Renderer>().material.color = flagColor; changes the color of the flag to yellow.

[ClientRpc]
    public void RpcUpdateFlagColor()
    {
    Flag.GetComponent<Renderer>().material.color = flagColor; //flagColor set to Color.yellow
    }

[Command]
    public void CmdSpawnFlag()
    {
    flagspot = Random.Range(0, m_flagSpawnPositions.Length / 2) * 2;
    Flag = Instantiate(Flag, m_flagSpawnPositions[flagspot].transform.position, Quaternion.identity) as GameObject;
    Flag.GetComponent<Renderer>().material.color = flagColor;
    NetworkServer.Spawn(Flag);
    RpcUpdateFlagColor();

}

4. TwoTen

TwoTen