Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How can I learn Unity part-time?

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by NosyTapir, Mar 12, 2017.

1. NosyTapir

NosyTapir

Dear all,

I am completely new here and I'm trying to learn Unity, but It's not that easy. Actually, I never thought it would be easy, but I'm trying to find the best possible way to learn it since I have a full-time job. I have 10+ years of programming experience but no experience with C#...I work full-time as a business software developer. I also have some game development experience (published my first game on Google Play). I built my first game using Construct 2 but I realized that it's very limited and it doesn't work exactly the way I want it to work so I want to switch to Unity.

The first question is: should I first learn basic C# or it's much better to learn it by programming in Unity? I don't fully understand the logic of C#...

Second: People talk about 3D Buzz...do they have some kind of C# tutorial that is worth trying?

Third: What's the best ways to start?

I know that these questions were asked by many people here, but I just want to make sure that I am on the right path from the beginning, since I don't have a lot of time to learn Unity (1-2 hours daily + free weekends)

2. Owen-Reynolds

Owen-Reynolds

Here's my general description of the problem: http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/1252826/is-unity-for-beginners-if-not-what-else-should-i-k.html