Search Unity

How can I create a clipping plane for a camera in world space?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by JoePatrick, Jul 13, 2017.

1. JoePatrick

JoePatrick

Hi I want to have a clipping plane on my camera that is similar to the near-clipping plane but instead of being perpendicular to the camera, I want it to be a plane in world space.

Here is a diagram to help explain, on the left is how the standard near clip plane works (yellow being what is rendered) but I want it to behave like on the right, with the yellow line being a plane in 3d space.

2. aryes

aryes

Calculate world camera position and world vertex position distance by using only x and z using pitagora. Discard every pixel that wants to render before that

3. JoePatrick

JoePatrick

So is this a shader sort of thing? I am pretty new to shaders so don't fully understand. Would you mind elaborating?
    Thanks

4. bgolus

bgolus

5. JoePatrick

JoePatrick

Thanks
    The issue with this though is that this shader would have to be applied to every single gameobject in the scene in order to work, I'm looking more for something just on the camera

6. bgolus

bgolus

Yep, that's what you're going to have to do.

Even if Unity exposed user clip planes, a feature of DirectX and OpenGL to allow for arbitrary clipping planes, you'd still need to use a custom shader to take advantage of them.

7. JoePatrick

JoePatrick

But would it not be possible with a shader on the camera instead, otherwise I can't use any custom shaders at all which is a dealbreaker

8. bgolus

bgolus

The camera doesn't have a shader, in fact as far as the GPU is concerned the camera isn't a thing that exists. The camera is effectively just a dummy object reference point used to calculate matrices which are to pass to the shaders which do the actual rendering. Everything looks consistent just by virtue of the fact every shader is passed the same view and projection matrices so they all line up in the end.