Search Unity

How can i assign values to variables within objects in a 2d list radiating out from a given locatio

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by NinjaVampireRobot, Jul 25, 2017.

1. NinjaVampireRobot

NinjaVampireRobot

Sorry that is probably a confusing question for a title. Im kind of a beginner here and i hope I'm using the correct terms. But any help would be appreciated even if its just pointing me in a general direction.

Im using c#. I have a 2d list of objects(all being built with the same class). I want to go to a point in that 2d list and then give variables in the objects next to the starting obj a value depending on how far away from it is. I included a diagram below to illustrate what I'm saying a bit.

Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 12.33.19 PM.png

As shown above If I were to go to the object stored in myList[5][5] I want to be able to make
    mylist[4][5].myvar = 3;
    mylist[3][5].myvar = 2;

and so forth making a radiating pattern with the original object as the focal point.

I have been able to do it with set distances from the origin point by just hard coding all the values but if i need to make it more dynamic say a radius of 4(instead of the above 3) one time but 7 another time I cant seem to wrap my head around what i need to do. i have been playing with for loops but it is getting really messy and i can't seem to get anything to work. Any suggestions?

2. Basen1

Basen1

Would this work value = Mathf.Abs(radius - dist.x - dist.y); ?

Assuming this works in a tile based system and that they are all spaced 1 spot apart?

3. NinjaVampireRobot

NinjaVampireRobot

I like that I'm assuming I would define radius and then the others I could calculate the distance.