Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How can I animate/blend from a state between two poses to a third pose?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by kritoa, Jul 23, 2017.

1. kritoa

kritoa

I'm new to Unity animation and I just want to make sure this is possible before I spend a ton of time making animation clips in my animation program.

Say I have 3 poses for a hand model (this is a VR project): hand open, hand closed, hand pointed, and that I have an animation clip for smoothly transitioning between hand open and hand closed. So I can tell the AnimationState to go to time 0 and the hand will be open, time 1 and the hand is closed, and anywhere in between to get the intermediate positions.

Whatever position between open and closed the hand is in, I'd like to be able to go straight from that to "hand pointed". That is, I'd like to be able trigger my "hand pointed" at any time and be able to go from "halfway between hand open and hand closed" to "hand pointed".

Is this possible, and what animations do I need to make?

Right now I have a clip that goes from "hand open" to "hand closed" and by changing the AnimationState.time I can get whatever intermediate position I'd like.

If I just have a second clip that goes from "hand open" to "hand pointed", is there some stuff I can do with blending or something like that so I can animate from that intermediate position to hand pointed without first transitioning towards "hand open" or "hand closed"?

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

This is commonly called pose to pose animation.
    I think you can do this in Unity without creating animations that transition from one pose to another. But I have not done it before so I can't say for sure.

This is a simple test to perform and the answers you seek will be provided by doing it.

3. kritoa

kritoa