Search Unity

how-can-i-access-a-gameobject-in-one-class-from-another-class

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by lspence812, Jan 21, 2017.

1. lspence812

lspence812

I have a slider in my OptionsController and Options screen. I need to access it from my GameStartController, so that when my game starts I can have the slider on my Options screen reflect the value I've set in the code of my GameStartController. How can I accomplish that?

In my OptionsController I have:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public Slider volumeSlider;
    In my GameStartController I have the following, but get a nullreference exception when my game starts. I'm a noob with unity.

Code (CSharp):
    1. private OptionsController volSlider;
    3. void Awake()
    4. {
    5.     volSlider = GameObject.FindObjectOfType<OptionsController>();
    6. }
    8. void Start()
    9. {
    10.     volSlider.volumeSlider.value = 0.8f;
    11. }
    I'm using Unity 5.4.2f2, please help.

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

When you say something like "I get a NullReferenceException" always copy and paste the actual error from your Console. It includes useful details, like exactly where the error occurred.

But in this case I guess it must be on line 10 of GameStartController.cs. So that means either volSlider is null, or volSlider.volumeSlider is null. You can check for both of these:

1. First, make sure you have actually dragged the relevant slider into the volumeSlider property of your OptionsController in the inspector. You didn't mention doing that, so I bet this is the problem.

2. Then, try to never write code that assumes everything is set up correctly. Instead write worried, paranoid code that is just sure every other component in the project (including the one between the seat and the keyboard) is a complete moron that's going to fail to do what it's supposed to do. In this case, insert these lines into GameStartController.Awake, between lines 5 and 6:

Code (CSharp):