Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Hosting a Database, advices for noob ?!

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by RemDust, May 16, 2017.

1. RemDust

RemDust

Hi guys, :)

I'd like to know what is the easiest (but if possible fairly secured) way to host a simple database for a Unity game.
    The idea would be simply :
    - an array of players, referenced by their name, and for each of these players a few int and strings.

In this scenario I wouldn't implement a real networked multiplayer gameplay but more a local one -think smash bros but with character creation/persistence- the players would log and then read/write their character progress in the database.

I don't even know if I can do this in C#, I'm a real newbie here !

Si any input from you would be really appreciated ;)

2. TwoTen

TwoTen

Something like Playfab or Gamespark? Or do you want to host yourself?

RemDust likes this.
  3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Is the database global, or to be stored locally? If local, you can just store all that in playerprefs.

RemDust likes this.
  4. RemDust

RemDust

I want it to be a global database so the players can play their "characters anywhere" :)
    I already heard about Playfab but it seemed a little bit "overkill" for my needs.

In my thoughts it would be a cheap cloud storage of an array that I can populate like
    - player list
    - for each player an int for gold and xp
    - a list of stuff, each stuff contains another list of strings (player names) that I write and check to see if players possesses the item or not.

Maybe a few other really simple things as you can see !

5. TwoTen

TwoTen