1. We've introduced thread tags, search within a thread and similar thread search. Read more here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We've released our first Timeline Experimental Preview, our new tool for creating cutscenes and more! To check it out click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Unity Pro perpetual license customers: your special offer to subscribe is ready! Click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 5.5 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out all the fixes for 5.5 in patch releases 1 & 2.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 5.6 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Get prepared for the Tizen Mobile App Incentive Program! Read more about the upcoming program here.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Enter the Microsoft Developer Challenge for a chance to win prizes. Read more about it here.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug High CPU usage using Unity 5.4.0p1

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by OhPugliaMia, Aug 27, 2016.

  1. OhPugliaMia

    OhPugliaMia

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hi everyone,
    I'm using Antergos Linux release 16.7 (based on Arch Linux) with the KDE 16.08.
    One of my 4 cores reaches the 100% from the moment I've launched Unity and it stays still until I close Unity.
    That's all.
    This doesn't happen when I launch the compiled project alone.
    I also tried Unity 5.4.0p1 on Kubuntu 15.10 on a different computer and the same problem occured.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. aaulia

    aaulia

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    4
  3. OhPugliaMia

    OhPugliaMia

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you very much. I suspected this was known. I'll wait.
     
  4. 1rel

    1rel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Same issue here. On my Manjaro/Arch Linux box (using Xfce) one of my 4 cores is maxing out on 100%, as long as the scene is not in play mode (like discussed already).

    It is really really nice to see the Unity Editor running under Linux! But this issue kind of a show stopper in my case...
     
  5. dirtycoder

    dirtycoder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    It's a known issue. And it's the only thing that stops me from trying to use Unity on Linux.
    Also you can keep track of the known issues at the bottom of the first post in this topic.
     
  6. Rafaelhp

    Rafaelhp

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Yeah, I have reported this too.
    It's a known bug, it's been here for so loooooong that I a named this bug Spock.
    Spock can be hard to deal, but you kind of get used to him.
    Give a chance to Spock. <3
     
  7. dirtycoder

    dirtycoder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    I'm sorry for Spock, but no. :(
     
  8. aaulia

    aaulia

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Just wondering, do any of you guys check the temporary solution in the link I gave? I don't have Unity 3D linux right now (the download is huge and I'm on quota crap right now).
     
  9. arcooke

    arcooke

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    I'll definitely check when I get home from work and let you know.. this has me excited, the CPU issue has been driving me absolutely mad. Thanks for the link!

    EDIT: It works!
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2016
  10. aroskuski

    aroskuski

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I've been using that for a while. It doesn't eliminate the idle usage completely, but it does bring it down from 100% of a core down to more like 8-16% of a core.
     
  11. 1rel

    1rel

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks aaulia, that solves the issue to a point where things become usable, nice! - Definitely better, than letting the editor rest in play mode all the time (previous "fix"), and then forgetting about it when working on something...
     
  12. dirtycoder

    dirtycoder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    I haven't tried the fix, and probably won't and will just wait for an official fix...
    But cool that it works! :)