Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Hi I am new to unity I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice!!

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by NO1234567, Apr 17, 2017.

1. NO1234567

NO1234567

Hi I am new to unity please can I have some advice??

-thanks!!

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Start with the learn section.

Learn to ask specific questions.

Have fun!

LaneFox, Ryiah, DocJ and 3 others like this.
  3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Never eat spinach with a stranger.

FerretInABox and DocJ like this.
  4. Batuhan13

Batuhan13

You can follow some unity youtubers like Brackeys ;) I started to unity with brackeys videos they are really benefical.

MarkusGod likes this.
  5. Taorcb

Taorcb

Personally, I don't like youtubers now, though I learned most of my bad habits from csharp accent tutorials back when he wrote all of the code "live" (he had notes) on screen.

I'd recommend Unity's tutorials and the learn section.

NO1234567 likes this.
  6. Tset_Tsyung

Tset_Tsyung

Little late to the party, but wanna add to this.

1) As the others have said, do ALL the tutorials. Even if one isn't the genre of games that interests you, there's still soemthing to learn.

2) Go through some of the live training sessions that they have. I've only done a few, but they're really informative.

3) When you're ready to try making your own games from scratch START SIMPLE! Like, super simple. Pong clones, breakout clones - but just add a little something different (1 thing).

4) Then maybe try doing a 'game a week' challenge. This gets your used to putting together the core mechanics of a game pretty quickly.

These are a few things that I've founf useful and that I WISHED had realised sooner.

Hope this helps, welcome to the forums ;)

NO1234567, Kiwasi and JoeStrout like this.
  7. NO1234567

NO1234567