Search Unity

having problems access a child script, need help.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by tim76, Jun 25, 2017.

1. tim76

tim76

Yes, I am a newbie and probably asking a dumb question that been asked a 1000 times. I tried to search the forum but got so many hits that wasn't what looking for. So I am asking a dumb question, Anyway...

I have Cube and under the cube I have Canvas as a child. I am using the canvas for a menu for that Cube.
    I created Script called 'closeme' under the canvas to open and close the menu with 'hideme' boolean. The Close works perfect but having trouble getting to open again.

I have script under the cube to rightclick to open the canvas, and this is what I got and it's not working...

Code:
    function Update () {

if(Input.GetMouseButtonDown(1)) {
    var ChildComp = GetComponentInChildren(closeme);
    ChildComp.hideme = false;

}

}

Error:

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    RightClickMenu.Update () (at Assets/Jscript/RightClickMenu.js:11)

I tried messing with for hours, and now asking you guys, can anybody tell me what I am doing wrong.

2. methos5k

methos5k

Okay, if you are new to coding and wanting to learn it and Unity, I'd recommend trying C# vs UnityScript. That's a "soft" recommendation, for lack of a better term.. You can use either, but if you're new I think you'd get a lot more out of learning C#. Ok, now onward..

Please look at this page for how to insert code nicely into the forums: https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

Your code doesn't require you to click the cube to open the menu - is that what you want? You can just click anywhere?
    Could you post your code that's responsible for showing/hiding the child cube?
    I think this could be redone to much easier.