Search Unity

Having a mesh acting as a light

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by PierreCAMILLI, Mar 1, 2017.

1. PierreCAMILLI

PierreCAMILLI

Hi!

First, I'm french so my english can be pretty weak, I'm sorry for this.

My problem is kinda specific. I'm new to shaders and I'm developping a 2D dark platformer game using sprites and light effects.

In order to manage dynamic lights and shadows effects on 2D sprites, I'm doing 2D Spotlight effects with a mesh I generate every frames using this tutorial :
    I used stencil masks as recommanded in the third part to display what the player can see but the render was ugly. So I came to think of using the mesh as pure light and sprites as simples diffuse sprites.

Combining the mesh with a shader from an asset in the store (https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/24083) and little modifications, I got this result :

(don't mind the circle, the new light effect isn't implemented on it yet)

The smoothing effect is good but now I would like to display what's behind the mesh as if it was enlightened in a dark scene. Here is the shader I'm using :
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Shader "Gradient/No Texture/Radial/Single-Color/To Transparent/Regular UV/Alpha Blend" {
    3.     //Set up the shader to receive external inputs from Unity
    4.     Properties {
    5.         _Color ("Color", Color) = (1,1,1,1)                //Receive input from a fixed Color
    6.         _UVXOffset ("UV X Offset", float) = 0            //Receive input from UV coordinate X offset
    7.         _UVYOffset ("UV Y Offset", float) = 0            //Receive input from UV coordinate Y offset
    8.         _UVXScale ("UV X Scale", float) = 1.0            //Receive input from UV X scale
    9.         _UVYScale ("UV Y Scale", float) = 1.0            //Receive input from UV Y scale
    10.         _Offset ("Offset", float) = 0                    //Receive input from a float
    11.     }
    13.     //Define a shader
    14.     SubShader {