Search Unity

Having a hard time finding tutorials, guides, or server-solutions for an MMO.

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by TheBraxton, Mar 6, 2014.

1. TheBraxton

TheBraxton

I'm an indie developer, currently on my own (amazingly talented friends are too dug into their career work to help until I actually get going). Right now our small group of friends/colleges have been spinning in circles with standard indie developer issues (spinning in circles, getting excited about a new technology only to be shot down by lack of funding, etc etc).

So, my goal currently is to get the groundwork started so our team can form around that and move forward.

The Problem:
    -No real decent tutorials that can be found with google (perhaps we're just awful at using google?) on getting started and then hooking it into Unity.

-Searching for existing server solutions only ends up with cloud-hosted solutions (not realistic for serious MMO releases), or incredibly expensive Server solutions that don't really tell you much about how customizable they are, their limitations, or expected concurrent user count given a specific type of MMO in mind using non-instancing and non-zoning technologies.

-I am aware of SmartFoxServer (unrealistic given the current information out there), and PUN (Photon) however PUN has stated itself not being usable for Seemless MMO design.

Are there examples out there that i'm missing for the following items(?):

-Procedurial Terrain Generation (even a basic Minecraft copy-cat example would be fine. I could just really use an example of procedural voxel generation/handling)

-Load balancing examples?

-Seemless-World object tracking examples? (NPC, Player, and World Objects like walls, trees, etc)