Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Going Retro, Design Decisions, What is it About Them

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by p1zzaman, Feb 23, 2017.

1. p1zzaman

p1zzaman

I have seen a lot of retro style games coming out. When I say retro in my perspective I am talking about games made in the late 80s - early 90s. Double Dragon, Megaman, Ghost and Ghouls, and those slew of side scrolling fighters like Final Fight, TMNT arcade etc

I have been pondering on what makes these types of games fun and memorable. At first I thought it was just nostalgia, going back to simpler times when the only thing I had to worry about was not being able to locate a certain piece of Lego. But booting some of those back up, they are still pretty fun. Many modern games that use retro themes are a blast too.

I am new to game design, so this might be a really stupid question and simple one to answer for some of you. but what is it about those games that makes it enticing? What design elements do they do well and how did they translate into modern games?

Also for those throwback retro style games made now, do you see a combination of retro game design mixed with new?

1. What do you think retro games did well in terms of design and what were lacking
    2. New "retro" games have a mixed of design patterns?

Thanks, hope to get a good discussion out of this.

-Rob

2. Habitablaba

Habitablaba

For me, I gravitate to creating retro style games for a few reasons.

First, my skill set lends itself more to a 2d tile based game than it does to any 3d game, and certainly anything approaching real physics. I am a one man team with no budget. All the assets I'm using are assets I've created, and I find drawing a 2d character and some tiles to be way easier than trying to model, rig, texture, and animate a 3d character.