Search Unity

Getting started with Unity, suggestions isometric builder game please?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by bobcat19, Apr 20, 2017.

1. bobcat19

bobcat19

So I've been having a play with Unity, I've gone through a few of the tutorials etc.

I've been thinking about making from scratch, and I was thinking I'd try create an isometric style builder game (similar to Theme hospital) in Unity.

What would be the best way to do this? 3D with a fixed camera angle? 2D with sprites etc?

Does anyone know of any good tutorials for this?

Any help would be much appreciated.

P.S. I'm actually a web developer and this is my first experience with game dev and it is hella fun. I think I picked the wrong industry.

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Welcome to the forums!

I will offer up my token advice that I and others have already typed out hundreds of times: your game idea is probably a bit too ambitious at the stage you're currently at. Which is fine! You can start working on it, but realize you may have to take quite a few detours to go acquire additional skills you'll need. Which may mean your game doesn't really get started for another few years, potentially.

With that out of the way, I'd definitely recommend 3D for doing an isometric building game. You won't be fighting against the way Unity naturally wants to work, and it'll offer you more options. Let's say, for example, that half way through development you want it to be a fully 3D, free camera game like Cities: Skylines (made with Unity, by the way). If you started using 3D, you're just looking at rebuilding the camera and potentially some interface. But if you were using sprites, you'd be starting over from scratch.

Also, as a non-artist, I find making things using Blender much easier than creating 2D art -- as long as you're willing to make some concessions and go a bit more... lo-fi.