Search Unity

General Question on GameObject.GetComponent<Whatever>();

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by eagreen, May 27, 2017.

1. eagreen

eagreen

Hi there

I'm new to Unity but i'm pretty experienced in Microcontrollers (C).
    Scripting itself isnt a problem, but i'm having trouble in understanding how different Gameobjects interact with each other.

I'm currently following a tutorial on a basic FPS in Unity, the tutorial is scripting in Java but yet i was able to do it in c#.

I made a crosshair that expands a little when i shoot. Each crosshair line has an animation attached that moves it a little to the outside and back.
    upload_2017-5-27_19-24-37.png

I got a Gameobject holding my Script that triggers the animations.

public class CrossAnimate : MonoBehaviour {

public GameObject UpCurs, DownCurs, LeftCurs, RightCurs;
    private Animation UpCursAnim, DownCursAnim, LeftCursAnim, RightCursAnim;

private void Start()
    {
    UpCursAnim = UpCurs.GetComponent<Animation>();
    DownCursAnim = DownCurs.GetComponent<Animation>();
    LeftCursAnim = LeftCurs.GetComponent<Animation>();
    RightCursAnim = RightCurs.GetComponent<Animation>();
    }

// Update is called once per frame

void Update ()
    {
    if (Input.GetButtonDown("Fire1"))
    {
    UpCursAnim.Play("UpCurs");
    DownCursAnim.Play();
    LeftCursAnim.Play();
    RightCursAnim.Play();
    }
    }
    }

Its working thats not my problem, i just dont get why its working this way.
    The crosshair animation is attached to the corresponding crosshair line, the corresponding crosshair line is attached (dragged&dropped) to the scripts GameObjects.

What i dont understand is why cant i trigger the animations from the GameObject that is attached to the script [for example UpCurs.Animation.Play()] directly?

i know i have to
    UpCursAnim = UpCurs.GetComponent<Animation>();
    and then
    UpCursAnim.Play("UpCurs");