Search Unity

First Project, NEED HELP, AR marker based iOS app.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Beazyrider12289, Mar 13, 2017.

1. Beazyrider12289

Beazyrider12289

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to read this.

I am a Music student who needs to create an App for an assignment, so as you can imagine, I am well out of my depth.

The iOS app is what I'd consider being fairly simple (for someone of your caliber), and consists of marker based (QR codes) Augmented Reality, the idea being that QR codes are placed around the room and when the user looks at the code a .PNG image appears, the image that the QR code "projects" can be changed depending what setting is selected e.g. musical notes, chords, music theory.

Any help in developing this will be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks.

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

I would wager that Unity is not the right tool set to build your app with. It doesn't sound like you're building a game, but rather something that just uses the camera and overlays images depending on the QR code visible.

Furthermore, it sounds like a somewhat complicated app for someone who's not a CS major to have to build. What kind of class is this for?

michigan_is_awesome likes this.
  3. michigan_is_awesome

michigan_is_awesome

I agree with Schneider21 that Unity may not be the right option.

ARIS is free and pretty easy to use. There's no coding required, and it can be used to create a number of different kinds of educational augmented reality games. Last I heard, it only ran on iOS (which it sounds like you're using). They have online tutorials and manuals on their site as well.

4. Beazyrider12289

Beazyrider12289