Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

C# Compiler Existing C# 6 users

Discussion in 'Experimental Scripting Previews' started by makeshiftwings, Jul 23, 2016.

1. makeshiftwings

makeshiftwings

Hello Unity, just wanted to make sure you all were aware of alexzzzz's existing wrapper for the Roslyn compiler:

https://bitbucket.org/alexzzzz/unity-c-5.0-and-6.0-integration/src

and SaladLab's Unity C# 6 incremental compiler:

https://github.com/SaladLab/Unity3D.IncrementalCompiler

I have not used the incremental one but I've been using alexzzzz's wrapper for a few months now and have had no issues with it. FYI, both Visual Studio and Resharper can currently be set to use C# 6 but target .NET 3 without any issues.

I hope Unity gives Roslyn some serious consideration... I know you guys like to make custom versions of everything but it's good to leverage existing solutions where possible. I still don't really understand why you need to write your own .NET compiler when IL2CPP is supposed to handle IL (it's in the name!) and so should be compiler-agnostic.

rakkarage likes this.
  2. JoshPeterson

JoshPeterson

Unity Technologies

@makeshiftwings

Thanks for the information. We've actually looked those projects a bit - they look pretty nice.

To clarify, we're not shipping a custom C# compiler. We ship the Mono C# compiler, and in fact we're upgrading to the latest Mono compiler (the one released with Mono 4.4) for the next version of Unity. You can try out that compiler with a 5.3.5p8-compatible build of Unity here:

http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/upgraded-c-compiler-on-5-3-5p8.417363/