Search Unity

Error CS0103

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Mikevincent, Mar 7, 2017.

1. Mikevincent

Mikevincent

Hello.
    I am completely new to this and I am going thru some tutorials. Now I have encountered an error. Whever I try to make a C# script it says on both UnityEngine and MonoBehaviour (that are also marked in red) "Error CS0103 - the name does not exist in the current context". I have searched for this on Google and many people seem to have this error, yet no solution I have found has worked. I have tried to change to Net 4.5. Nothing works. Please help.

2. Jaimi

Jaimi

Post your script, and lets take a look at it

3. Mikevincent

Mikevincent

Well, it works outside of the MonoDevelop. When I hit the play button it runs as it should.

I made a new C# without any written code and took a print screen to show you, here -

4. Jaimi

Jaimi

In that case, it's likely just the references in the project - if you choose "Open C# project" from the assets menu, it should rebuild the project.

5. Dustin-Horne

Dustin-Horne

Also don't do that... Unity is running on a 3.5 runtime equivalent.

6. Mikevincent

Mikevincent

This is the error I am getting. Nothing works to fix it.

Build failed. Could not load file or assembly 'System.Web, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. The module was expected to contain an assembly manifest.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  7. Dustin-Horne

Dustin-Horne

See my previous reply. "Version=4.0.0.0"... you can't do that. You can't target .NET 4.

8. Mikevincent

Mikevincent

It doesnt matter wich I chose. Still the same issue.
    I should also mention I have enabled .NET 3.5 in Windows.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  9. Dustin-Horne

Dustin-Horne

Then you've referenced an assembly that targets .NET 4. System.Web to be exact.

10. Mikevincent

Mikevincent