Search Unity

Dissertation ideas - Horror game using unity

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by izzyf22, Jun 11, 2017.

1. izzyf22

izzyf22

Hi all,

I am still quite new to unity and going into my third year of University for Digital Media Production, It looks at all medias. In second year I did an independent study where I had a chance to do my own work on an area of my choice which I chose to be game development and am probably the only person on my course doing this. I learnt Unity all by myself and got advice from a tutor and eventually made a maze horror game. I loved it and now want to do this as my third year dissertation. I really want to go into horror still as its my favourite genre but as its my dissertation I need to add cut scenes and make it bigger and multiple level with it getting progressively harder. I was wondering any unity creators here who are also into horror or any aspects I have mentioned could give advice on where Is good to go with this and also I need to create a question to answer as I will be writing a paper on this too. I am really interested in new games such as little nightmares and layers of fear and also the big games like resident evil 7 as inspiration.

Thanks, Izzy

in game terrain.PNG

Attached Files:

neoshaman likes this.
  2. iamthwee

iamthwee

Hello @izzf22

I'm also into the horror genre massively, and have practically have the same tastes as yourself, little nightmares was pretty nice.

If you wanna check out my progress on a PT style game it's here.

https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/wip-the-horror-room.375789/

If you have any questions I would be glad to help. I would say for your final project, you would have to scope much much smaller. Even a Playable Teaser type game gets unmanageable.