Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Deterministic RTS game engine

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Obatztrara, Feb 3, 2012.

1. Obatztrara

Obatztrara

First of all, this is my very first post on these forums so yay for that and good day to everybody! :D

Secondly, as the title suggests I am working on a RTS game, using obviously the unity engine. It is my first attempt at making a game with the engine, but I have programmed in c# before and I study computer science, so the coding is not my biggest concern. What really concerns me is how to implement a working multiplayer mode (the game wont even have much of a singleplayer part). This is why I turn to you guys.

1) I know the "state of the art" method for RTS games is to create a deterministic game engine, synchronize all players and their input and send only the input over the network, hoping that since everything is deterministic everyone will end up with the same game state.
    Is this concept applicable to the unity engine? Can everything be determinstic? What about for example the Physics?

2) Does anyone have experience with an engine like this? Any common problems? How did you deal with for example float operations?

Thanks!
    Greetings,
    Obat

2. fholm

fholm

Hey, and welcome to the forums! Let's dig right into answering your questions.

1) It's not so much state of the art as the only way to do it properly, I think there is one single RTS game in the past ten years or so that has not done it this way. You can apply this concept to unity, but you're going to have to take a few things into consideration. First up is the physics engine, unitys engine is not deterministic which means you will be limited to use physics for "eye candy", but this is not as big as you think as most RTS games rarely use physics for anything else.