Search Unity

Assets DarkRift Networking 2: The next level of networking

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Jamster, Jan 20, 2016.

1. Jamster

Jamster

DarkRift Networking

Update 13/9/17!
    Open beta has started*! You can download the latest builds in the most recent posts or visit the community Discord server links channel!

*It started a few weeks ago, I just forgot to post an update!

Update 04/04/17!
    Alpha testing signup is available here!

Update 20/03/17!

Lots has changed since this post so take it with a pinch of salt as lots of features have now been changed!

Also, there's more discussion on the community run Discord channel, join here :)

Update 05/03/18!

DarkRift 2 has been released!

Keep up to date on the new forum thread here!

Original Post
    So it's nearly been 2 years since I released the original DarkRift Networking and whilst I'd say it's done a grand job in it's short stint, it's fair to say that I'm a significantly better programmer now than I was when I wrote it and so trying to maintain it is very much a chore. As is trying to add anything to it without breaking it...

So starting almost exactly a year after I started writing the original, DarkRift Networking is being remade from the ground up so that all the small design decisions I took and have now come to regret can be thrown away. I'm not changing the principle of operation, it's still going use messages with a tag and subject because I think that is a brilliant setup, but the majority of the API will be changing to make it generally better.

What's Implemented so far?
    • Modular network connections - DarkRift previously had a lot of it's send/receive protocol code in the same class which was a pain, the new one splits this up so that new protocols (e.g. UDP/RUDP etc) can be added without requiring huge rewrites.
    • TCP communication - Well that was always there...