Search Unity

Create a basic cube shaped level

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by link6790, Feb 20, 2017.

1. link6790

link6790

Hi guys,

I am very new to game development. I've gone through a few tutorials for unity and they have been helpful for learning a bit, however they always come with their own assets.

To start out with, I want to make a very basic level, basically an arena shaped like a cube with just the player and 1 enemy. I'm going about this step by step, starting with make the level (walls and floor).

Should I just be putting cube objects on the scene editor and squishing them down to be flat and use 5 of them for the floor and walls? Or is there an actual level object I should be using? Am I better off trying to create the level in another program such as blender and then import it?

Then follow up question for as I get further into this, will I have to use blender to make the characters as well? (player/enemy) Or could I just link some cubes together to make a block enemy/block player?

Sorry if this seems like a really basic question.

I appreciate the help!!

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

From a beginner's perspective this is a perfectly fine way to go. Primitives are frequently used for prototyping but there isn't anything wrong with using them for simple content. You can always swap them out at a later date.

There are assets on the store - both free and paid - that can assist with creating levels.

https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/11919 - ProBuilder Basic (Free)
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/3558 - ProBuilder Advanced ($95)
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/47418 - SabreCSG (Free and Open Source)
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/69542 - RealtimeCSG ($49)