Search Unity

Concern that Unite announced Asset Pipeline changes are not fixing the core issue.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by hoesterey, Nov 3, 2016.

1. hoesterey

hoesterey

Hi,
    I just wanted to raise some concerns about the planned Asset pipeline changes. I have a lot of experience working in Unity with both small and large teams of over 100 people and the Asset Pipeline has always been a pain point.

The updated pipeline as I understand it only imports "used" assets. While this will help speed import time, it doesn't really address the issue at the architectural level as I'd hope to see.

I'd really like to see assets packaged at import time and unusable until the assets are imported. Here is why:
    • Currently Import and iteration time increases as team size goes up. e.g. If a set of textures for the player character take 30 seconds to import, that means a 100 person team will spend 50 man minutes to import this asset, each time those textures are changed. Were this asset "Packaged" so it did not require a reimport on every computer, this time would be consistent regardless of team size. One team member spending X seconds packaging the file before it was usable.
    • Non-Matching Meta files can take an entire team offline for hours. Imagine this scenario. An artist checks in a new environmental asset without having opened that asset in the engine. Two level designers sync and open unity both wishing to use the new asset. The asset generates DIFFERENT GUIDs in the meta files on each of there computers. They begin using the asset, hooking it up to scripts ect... They both check-in. One designers work is destroyed as the GUIDS no longer match up. Now multiply this one mistake in process by a team of 100. Something is consistently broke because mistakes happen. To illustrate how bad this is, I've actually had to have 2 people who do nothing but police check-ins to ensure nothing is missed. We still miss things.