Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Collision/Color Problems

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by jwathen, Mar 16, 2017.

1. jwathen

jwathen

Hello everyone! I am new to Unity, taking a class in it this semester. We are currently remaking Q*bert in 3D, it's pretty fun but I've been having a problem with the biggest part of the game. The cubes changing colors when the Player hits it.

I attached the script to the Player(it's a sphere) and the collision works but it changes the color of the sphere not the cube. I've tried putting the script on a prefab called Pyramid, it contains all my cubes, switching the appropriate names in the code. That doesn't work either. I tried it on one of the individual cubes and that didn't work either.

Here's a picture of my script.

12.JPG

JoeStrout likes this.
  2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Hi, Jennifer! Welcome to the forums!

"Doesn't work" is a difficult issue for us to help debug. You mentioned that when you have this script attached to the player, it changes the player object's color. That doesn't sound right with what I'm seeing in your screenshot, but just to be sure, are you positive you have the GameObjects tagged properly?

jwathen likes this.
  3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

What a fun project! Q-Bert was one of my favorite games back in the day.

I agree with @Schneider21, the script you posted ought to work. When faced with a mystery like this, you want to gather all the clues you can — and in particular, try to think of what assumptions you're making, that you're not really testing. The best/easiest way to do that is to dump more details into your print statement. Instead of just "it worked", do something like:

Code (csharp):
    1.   print(gameObject.name + " collided with " + other.gameObject.name + ", so changing its material to " + colorOne);