Search Unity

Cinemachine Collider Component Not functioning as Expected....is it a bug?

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by FrankenCreations, Jul 12, 2017.

1. FrankenCreations

FrankenCreations

To start some background info on me. I am completely new to game dev. I know literally nothing and may just be completely wrong about this. Knowing that I may just be doing something wrong I thought it best to ask rather than try to file some formal issue bs or anything. So here goes I hope I can explain it well enough.

I am using unity2017, freshly installed today. I am trying to get a virtual camera to collide with a wall and stop itself from penetrating the wall it collides with. I don't want it to do anything else other than track and look at one object, a cube in this instance. Should be a simple task I think but I can't seem to do it. I have made a test scene with 3 primitives created by unity all cubes and one virtual camera/main camera combo. The cubes are named ground, wall and target. The virtual camera is set to follow and aim at the target cube. I made it as absolutely simple as I possibly could. Everything was left at default the way it came out of the box except for the vCam which had a collider component attached with the line of sight check box disabled. The camera tracks perfectly, follows and aims correctly. When it gets pushed into a wall it will collide and push away or resist entering but only to the distance of the curb feelers roughly before it goes through the wall. If I want to keep the camera from entering the wall I have to set the curb feeler distance equal to the distance of the camera offset. If set to a reasonable distance the camera will enter a wall long before the cube gets to it.