Search Unity

Can't manage to translate or MoveTowards with animation...

Discussion in 'Animation' started by adralith, Mar 21, 2017.

1. adralith

adralith

Hi,
    I am kinda new to unity and I'm working on a little 3D game in which the character has to move thanks to "keywords" in a text box such as "move" "turnleft" etc... (Textboxes are replaced by buttons temporarily)

I need the character to move from a cube to another only, if I click the button on the left, it has to go to the blue cube in front of him.
    I've got this code from now :

Code (CSharp):
    1. public void goForward()
    2.         {
    3.             transform.Translate(0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f );
    5.             m_Character.UpdateAnimator(new Vector3(0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f * Time.deltaTime ));
    6.             m_Character.m_Animator.SetFloat("Forward", 1, 0.1f, Time.deltaTime );
    7.         }
    So yes, it's going forward but toooo quickly...
    I've tried using Time.deltaTime in the transform.translate(); but then when I press the button, the characters goes forward for like 1/100 of the wanted distance...
    Have you got any solution to either slow down the tranform.translate and make the animation "seeable" or to use MoveTowards ? ( I used it aswell but it teleported too)...

by the way : I'm using Ethan, an included character in Unity

Thanks !

2. Maxpeinas

Maxpeinas

You can add this in coroutine

Code (CSharp):
    3. void Start()
    4. {
    5.      StartCoroutine(GoForward());
    6. }
    8. public IEnumerator GoForward()
    9. {
    10. Vector3 targetPosition = target.transform.position;
    11.      while(Vector3.Distance(targetPosition, attacker.transform.position) > wantedDistance)
    12.      {
    13.           attacker.transform.position = Vector3.MoveTowards(attacker.transform.position, targetPosition, speed * Time.deltaTime);
    14.           yield return null;
    15.      }
    16. }
    or in update

Code (CSharp):