1. The 5.5 Beta is now available. Click here for more details!
  2. Get early access to our Google Daydream Technical preview. Click here for more details!
  3. Become a closed-alpha partner on the new Facebook games platform. Read more about it here.
  4. Enter the Samsung TIZEN App Challenge for a chance to win prizes. Read more about it here.

Can't drag objects in the scene view

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Martin12, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. Martin12

    Martin12

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hi, I'm just learning Unity and I can't figure out why I'm unable to click-and-drag objects. It's been working fine for days, and now suddenly I can only move objects by their widgets. Trying to drag them directly just results in an empty selection box. I've uninstalled, reinstalled, made a new project, restarted, and reset the interface to factory settings and nothing seems to help.

    Does anyone have any idea what to do about this? I upgraded to 4.3 today if that's relevant...
     
  2. brilliantgames

    brilliantgames

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Click and drag objects? You mean select and move their position? Or dragging prefabs into your scene from the project window?
     
  3. Martin12

    Martin12

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I mean selecting and moving their position in the scene view.
     
  4. cparki3

    cparki3

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    I was just having the same issue and pulling my hair out. Turns out I had my Sprite renderer collapsed. In the inspector window, make sure the components are expanded. Im my case it was the sprite renderer, but I'm not sure what you're working on.

    Cheers!
     
  5. outtoplay

    outtoplay

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    740
    I just had this same problem. Is this on purpose? Really?
     
  6. Yarblek

    Yarblek

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    OMG this was driving me CRAZY. Thanks cparki3!
     
  7. MadManAdam

    MadManAdam

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    I had the same issue as well… would have never thought to see if the sprite renderer being collapsed was the culprit, crazy.
     
  8. BomboBombom

    BomboBombom

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Do not even see a sprite renderer anywhere on my screen, having the same issue anyway
     
  9. zeyadyasser101

    zeyadyasser101

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    I had this problem too. It was driving me crazy but I found a solution which was so obvious that I laughed.
    Make sure you select this tool as the attached image.
    [​IMG]
     
    BomboBombom likes this.
  10. xtiano

    xtiano

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    i had the same problem i just rebooted unity and it worked again
     
  11. Mr_waffles

    Mr_waffles

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    This is pretty easy but it doesn't fix it works so first you wanna create a New Folder. Then go to the the stuff you wanna import into the scene Select all the files scripts models and then click Copy Then go to the folder that you created in your project folder then right click on it then go to Show In Explorer then paste all the files you copyed into the folder

    I hope this helps you ALL!!