Search Unity

Can not start Iphone Simulator

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Azami1986, May 13, 2015.

  1. Azami1986

    Azami1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    Hello everbody,

    I downloaded Xcode 6.3 and Unity 5.0.2 on my macbook. Unfortunately, I keep getting the following error message in XCode, if I try to start the app on the Iphone Simulator.

    The build is always succesful, but I can not start the Iphone Simulator.

    I have already switched in Unity: player settings --> SDK Version --> Simulator SDK.

    Was does this error mean and how can I solve it?
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2015
  2. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,624
    for simulator, to allow plugins usage, we do not enforce "all symbols must be present" (otherwise you wont be able to link unless you use simulator libs for plugins). So essentially first time you try to poke plugin that do NOT provide simulator lib - you would crash - thats exactly whats happening (EmptyCustomAttributesCache function is in some plugin and "you" call it - be it directly or not)
     
  3. Azami1986

    Azami1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    Thanks for the answer. How can I solve this problem?

    I only created a cube in my test-project. I don't have installed any plug in. What shall I do?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2015
  4. grit

    grit

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    I've got the same problem. I am using XCdoe 6.2 however.
    When I build my app with Unity 5.0.1 everything works well.
    When I build my app with Unity 5.0.2 and try to run the simulator the same happens to me.
    I am using some plugins (TK2D, l2Localization, WRP iOS Video Player).

    The error message is in my case:
    dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE
    Referenced from: /Users/myUserName/Library/Developer/CoreSimulator/Devices/9CDB481F-EA11-4CE6-A61B-BD85974B76D4/data/Containers/Bundle/Application/05732EA0-A690-489A-BF0E-4615D20A184A/myAppName.app/myAppName
    Expected in: flat namespace
    in /Users/myUserName/Library/Developer/CoreSimulator/Devices/9CDB481F-EA11-4CE6-A61B-BD85974B76D4/data/Containers/Bundle/Application/05732EA0-A690-489A-BF0E-4615D20A184A/myAppName.app/myAppName

    The backtrace:

    * thread #1: tid = 0x2fba65, 0x0409a001, stop reason = EXC_BREAKPOINT (code=EXC_I386_BPT, subcode=0x0)
    * frame #0: 0x0409a001
    frame #1: 0x0409e021
    frame #2: 0x0409a222
    frame #3: 0x8fe2ddc4
    frame #4: 0x8fe2cfbd
    frame #5: 0x8fe29264
    frame #6: 0x8fe29077

    I have no idea, what's going on and how to solve this. Any hints are very appreciated.
    Thank you,
    Grit.
     
  5. ladron

    ladron

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    47
    I get the exact same "dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE" error.

    From the name, I thought it might be an issue with Metal, but I get the same issue if I force opengl. It happens with both Mono and IL2CPP builds.

    I am not using any plugins.
     
  6. KingAnak

    KingAnak

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    2
  7. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,624
    >>I've got the same problem
    >>dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE
    no, this is not same problem. using g_CurrentEncoder in simulator is indeed a bug, i will look into this
     
    Zhinkk, Azami1986 and KingAnak like this.
  8. grit

    grit

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Thank you Alexey,
    it would be nice to let us know as soon the fix is there.
    Kind regards,
    Grit.
     
  9. Azami1986

    Azami1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    I tested it with Unity 5.0.2p2. Unfortunately I got the same problem/error.
     
  10. DPoli

    DPoli

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Same problem with Unity 5.0.2:
    dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE

    Any ETA for the fix? Or must I go back to the previous engine version?
     
  11. rswlkr

    rswlkr

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I'm getting this error also. Is this an issue only with the simulator sdk? For example, if while reviewing my app, apple decide to use the sim etc....
     
  12. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    This issue was fixed in
    Patch 5.0.2p4
     
    rswlkr likes this.
  13. ladron

    ladron

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    47
    This is working for me now. Thanks!
     
  14. Arbuzas

    Arbuzas

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Was this fix ported to 5.1.0f3 ? Because it looks like I'm having same issue.
     
    jpthek9 likes this.
  15. mihnea2kx

    mihnea2kx

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Me too with 5.1.0f3 . Worked on 5.0.1 but now this ....
     
  16. LuckyHamster

    LuckyHamster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Posts:
    50
    Getting the same issue with 5.1.0f3. The device build works fine on my iPad but when I try to run on simulator I get the error: dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE
     
  17. AminAghajoon

    AminAghajoon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Same issue on 5.1.0f3 .
    dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE
     
  18. povilas

    povilas

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    427
    This problem has already been fixed. The fix is available in Unity 5.1.0p1 and 5.1.1
     
    jpthek9 likes this.
  19. KalebBK

    KalebBK

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Perhaps related... On the iOS simulator with 5.1.0p1 and 5.1.0f3:

    dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN6il2cpp5utils35RegisterRuntimeInitializeAndCleanupC1EPFvvES3_i
     
    jimrota likes this.
  20. Pineguy

    Pineguy

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Still same error -
    dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE
    unity 5.1.0f3, xcode 6.3.2
     
  21. LuckyHamster

    LuckyHamster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Posts:
    50
    Where do you download 5.1.1?
     
    CoCoNutti likes this.
  22. CoCoNutti

    CoCoNutti

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    dyld: Symbol not found: _AddFixture

    Running latest everything. Unity, please help!
     
  23. CoCoNutti

    CoCoNutti

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    Symbol not found: __ZN5metal16g_CurrentEncoderE
     
  24. LuckyHamster

    LuckyHamster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Posts:
    50
    I changed it back to Unity 5.1.0p1 and it works now but not on the latest Unity
     
  25. Chetim

    Chetim

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    I'm getting this error recently with 5.2.2
     
  26. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    Please submit a bugreport.
    Thanks!
     
  27. jimrota

    jimrota

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    My error is the same (Unity 5.2.3 , Xcode 7.2):
    ZN6il2cpp5utils35RegisterRuntimeInitializeAndCleanupC1EPFvvES3_i

    How do I submit a bug report. I tried Issue Tracking, but no add button...

     
  28. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    You can find it in Unity Editor menu Help -> Report a bug
     
  29. jimrota

    jimrota

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Have submitted a bug. Thanks!
     
  30. KalebBK

    KalebBK

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    @jimrota IIRC, I had managed to get around this bug for the simulator by building with the Mono2x scripting backend instead of IL2CPP since the simulator wasn't enforcing 64 bit builds. Things may have changed, but it might be worth a shot.
     
  31. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    Please try Unity 5.3.1.
    Thanks!
     
  32. marty

    marty

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,170
    Now I'm getting this error in tvOS builds from U5.3.1.
     
  33. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    Could you please share detailed error message?
     
  34. satanik

    satanik

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I use XCode 7.2 and Unity3d 5.3.2p1 and it seems I have the same error. The function FooPluginFunction is defined by me and used in a c# script.

     
  35. IndieFist

    IndieFist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Posts:
    520
    dyld: Symbol not found: __vtcOnSessionEnd
    Unity 5.3.2p2
     
  36. jimrota

    jimrota

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    I had the same error caused by a plugin I created for iOS which failed when I built for tvOS. It works fine when I build for iOS. It turned out I was missing an Inspector setting as shown in the attached screenshot. Once I ticked tvOS in the Inspector (for the plugin) it re-built to tvOS without issue.
     

    Attached Files:

    • temp.png
      temp.png
      File size:
      22.6 KB
      Views:
      1,059
  37. eppz

    eppz

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Posts:
    172
    I had the same issue, build your library to iOS Simulator (during debug).

    If you build your plugin library for Simulator in Xcode, it will be imported when you run your Unity App in Simulator. But if you build your library for Device, it won't be imported in Simulator builds. Also don't forget -ObjC linker flag when dealing with Categories.
     
  38. tuanzi88

    tuanzi88

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Same problem here using Unity 5.3.2f1 + Xcode 7.3.1

    Symbol not found: _ivcp_BeginRecordingSession
     
  39. povilas

    povilas

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    427
    Please check your plugins. One of them is not built for simulator.
     
  40. himssen

    himssen

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Unity 5.5.0f3 + Xcode 8.2.1

    dyld: Symbol not found: __ZN14Il2CppIMarshal3IIDE
     
  41. povilas

    povilas

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    427
    @himssen Could you please submit a bug report and attach the project that reproduces the issue? Could you post the id of the new bug here? Thanks.
     
  42. hvirtual

    hvirtual

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    do you know what the issue with this was? I am getting this problem currently, trying to deploy to iPad 2 on IOS 9.3 through Xcode similator. Only error i get is the one mentioned by himssen
     
  43. yaach

    yaach

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I am having the following error at runtime:

    dyld: Symbol not found: _UnityPluginLoad


    My build is successful in XCode but app crashes at runtime.

    Any thoughts?