Search Unity

c++ plugin problem

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by cmorace, Aug 5, 2009.

1. cmorace

cmorace

I'm having issues with my plugin recently. I think it might have to do with the upgrade to 2.51.

All my existing plugin code works fine but any new plugin functions I try to use I get an EntryPointNotFoundException: (then the functions name)

Any suggestions would be really appreciated. I am a student who has been working on a research project for the last 8 weeks. I can't make any progress until I fix this.

Thanks

2. zumwalt

zumwalt

Did you setup your plugin to be STDCALL or CDECL or the export type?

You can try to call it via _Method@# instead of Method
    The problem with 2.5.1 is that you do not know if the program will find your plugin method by alias, by ordinal or by standard so if your alias isn't setup and Unity can understand the alias or if you have duplicate alias, call by ordinal

CalculateRoutine could be
    _CalculateRoutine or
    _CalculateRoutine@4 for instance

Try the ordinal instead of alias, look at your .def file for the ordinal names.

[sorry url tag broken at the moment.. go figure, just copy/paste this and go for it :)]
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/d91k01sh(VS.80).aspx

3. cmorace

cmorace

I'm developing with a mac in xCode. The plugin is set up using a Carbon Bundle template.

I can not find a .def file for the ordinal names. Is .def Windows specific?

Thanks for the help

4. lankoski

lankoski

Yes. In windows you need .def file or need to use __declspec().

OSX works differently. Have you declared the functions as extern? E.g. something like this:

Code (csharp):
    1. extern "C" {
    2.      float Foo();
    3. }
    I have newer tried to access class methods directly from Unity, so there might be some things you need to know.

If you need to get the plugin work also in Windows you need something like this or use .def file:
    Code (csharp):
    1. extern "C" {