Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

C# noob needs help limiting how far an object travels

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by jpine, Feb 20, 2017.

1. jpine

jpine

This is my first attempt at writing C#...ever. The last time I tried writing code was in college when Ronald Regan was a first-term POTUS. So here is my question. After hours of trial an error, I got an object to behave pretty much the way I want. What I can't seem to get my head around is how to limit how far the object travels using the up and down keys to move the object on its Y axis. I tried a workaround by using a rigid body and collider combo, but I'm working with a scene purchased from the Asset Store and there is all kinds of parenting and other things making that approach beyond my skill level. I basically want the object to travel anywhere up the Y axis until it hits 15 meters. I want it to be limited to zero meters going down. Like I said, I have the basic code for the movement, and it works just as I want it to. I just want it to stop at a high point and/or down point. I'll paste below. I used Monodevelopment to write the code. Visual Studio was giving me fits.

Thanks!!!
    JP
    using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

public class UpandDown : MonoBehaviour {

// Use this for initialization
    void Start () {

}

// Update is called once per frame
    void Update () {

transform.Translate (0f,Input.GetAxis("Vertical")*Time.deltaTime, 0f);

}
    }

Attached Files:

2. DroidifyDevs

DroidifyDevs

First, please use code tags! https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

Short answer: 1981 ;)

It's simple:

Code (CSharp):
    2. void Update()
    3. {
    4.     if (transform.position.y <= 15 && transform.position.y >=0)
    5.     {