Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Building an Android project with gradle

Discussion in 'Android' started by philhindlept, May 22, 2017.

1. philhindlept

philhindlept

Hi,

I am working on a project which has an Android version. As we've updated SDKs we're now hitting the 65536 method DEX limit in Android. (https://developer.android.com/studio/build/multidex.html). We therefore want to build the game using Gradle as this should allow us to use either multidex or ProGuard to fix this problem.

I'm new to this particular project, Android build systems, Android Studio, and Gradle however I've used Unity for long enough to be reasonably competent. However my limited knowledge of the Android-specific build systems is cause me some problems. I've searched extensively but haven't found any solutions. I'll explain what I've done and the problem I am now facing.

* Using Unity 5.6.0f3
    * Using Android Studio 2.3.2
    * java -version reports java version "1.8.0_131"
    • I exported the Android project from Unity 5.6 Build Settings window as Gradle (New).
    • Then imported this Gradle project into Android Studio 2.3.2
    • AS showed a variety of error messages, mostly relating to AndroidManifest.xml collisions, so I edited these xml files (they're in the project folder), until those errors were resolved.
    • I also had edited several build.gradle files in the exported Gradle project where it says: classpath 'com.android.tools.build:gradle:2.1.0', and changed 2.1.0 to 2.3.2, because of the recommendation on this page : https://developer.android.com/studio/releases/gradle-plugin.html
    • Making those changes eventually resulted in Android Studio reporting "BUILD SUCCESSFUL"
    • I then switched back to Unity