Search Unity

Build fails but no 'error' in logs

Discussion in 'Unity Build Automation' started by RamSteelwood, Aug 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RamSteelwood

RamSteelwood

Hi,
    I'm new to cloud build, and not a particular expert in unity or source control either, so maybe (probably,hopefully) i'm doing something stupid...
    My attempts to cloud build are all failing, but when i look through the logs, there are no specific 'errors' recorded. There are plenty of warnings about deprecated commands in scripts and shaders (that I'm not using) but nothing that indicates the cause of the issue...
    here is an excerpt from the end of the compact log, containing the only red/error bits:
    154: [Unity] Player export failed. Reason: 2 errors
    155: ! build of 'frtestwin' failed. compile failed
    156: publishing finished successfully.
    157: Finished: FAILURE

so it says 2 errors but there aren't any errors in the compact log, and I've looked at the full log as much as i could endure (so i haven't read every line but I've scanned it, looked for red markers, and searched for words like 'error').

I would put this all down to me doing something wrong with the source control config, however my initial builds did work. I had a pretty simple test scene (but with most of the basic functions, 3rd party assets and requirements in place) when i first setup the source control and then cloud build. The scenes built ok, they were just missing some textures and stuff (that i had left in some temp folders that i excluded from source control)...but this just demonstrates to me how the cloud build can adapt to some missing things anyway.
    Since then I've created a new scene, updated and added assets and whatnot, and committed it all to source control...I've switched between branches in source control and the game will run in unity and i can build locally fine, so i'm pretty confident everything that's needed is in the source control.