Search Unity

Books recommendations for total beginner

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by markodisrm, Oct 4, 2016.

1. markodisrm

markodisrm

Hi,

I was always feeling that years have passed by so it's too late for me to even begin thinking about developing my own game. This thought was in my mind since I was 22-23... After many years of studying in subjects I don't really enjoy (finance for one thing.......) I have now reached the point of 32 where I'm having a job that it's ok, but I'm not really enjoying. Games were always my passion and finally I reached to a point where I'm saying "No more!!!" (for dramatization purposes). I reached a point where I no longer thing that it's too late for me to try to build my own games. Of course I don't believe that I'll start making a living out of them any time soon but regardless, even getting into developing games I'm sure it will create a sense of fulfillment.

I know there is a long way ahead of me but still I simple have to try, and try my best.

Since I've seen hundreds of descent and excellent games made with Unity, and many times by one-man team I believe that Unity probably provides a friendly environment for a lot of different kind of games and aesthetics (comparatively with other engines at least).

But I don't want to digress from the actual subject of the topic.

Please... could you suggest books about how to develop games to a passionate gamer with absolutely zero knowledge about how to do that? I just need a bit of information about what my first steps should be.

Thanks!

2. Owen-Reynolds

Owen-Reynolds

RE: friendly environment. A typical game engine is a friendly environment for one specific type of game. Lots of assumptions and gadgets that make it easy to do that one thing with 99 variations, but a huge pain for anything not on the menu and nearly impossible to make a different type of game.