Search Unity

Best way to handle visible bullets in server authoritative multiplayer (UNet)

Discussion in 'UNet' started by Vallar, Aug 17, 2017.

1. Vallar

Vallar

Hey guys,

I am working on implementing a 2D real time multiplayer game with server authority. I am still new in this whole networking and server authority stuff. However, so far I got movement, melee attacks and ranged attacks to work fine. I have hit a dilemma with bullets in ranged attacks.

Based on my research I found the below methods but I am not sure which is proper for server authority to prevent cheating and not strain the server at the same time:

1. Basically spawn the bullet on the server, give it velocity (it has RB2D) and then use NetworkServer.Spawn(). Bullet has a NetworkTransform on it with send rate = 0. Bullet has an OnCollisionEnter2D check. The check contains a [Server] method that checks if this is an enemy and then does the health calculation. To my understanding, this will only run collisions on the server and nothing will happen on the client until the server sends to the client that a collision took place. To circumvent lag, I am guessing I could just act upon the collision on the client too until server sends in information. However I am not to sure how to do reconciliation if no collision occurred but the client registered a hit by mistake. Until the bullet dies/collides with something the client knows nothing about the server.