Search Unity

Beginnings are always difficult

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Akil6, Mar 23, 2017.

1. Akil6

Akil6

Me and my friend decided to at least try to make a half-decent game. Our goal is to create isometric rpg with pixel-type graphics and real-time skill based combat for PC. Pretty much something similiar to Eitr. Point is- we are complete beginners. No clue where to start. We would aprreciate any advices, tips or guides for starting such a project. And no worries, we are taking it realistic, we arent kids anymore and we know we wont make triple A game in a week. It might take months, years even, but we take it more as a nice way to spend time while expanding our knowledge. Thanks :)

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Well if you've never made any game in Unity, then you should begin this game by making something else. Go make a Flappy Bird clone. Then make a Doodle Jump clone. (This is almost the same thing.) Then make a game where you control a mouse, trying to collect cheese while being chased by a cat.

That last one you could do initially in a flat 2D view, but then change it to isometric. Now you're starting to get close to the game you had in mind.

Isometric graphics aren't quite as easy as they seem... there are several isometric/tile assets in the store for this, but I've tried them and don't much care for any of them. Watch out for assets; they can sometimes make things much more complicated than they should. Of course, other times they can be a real boon.

Be sure that at some point you work through the "Roguelike" tutorial. It will have a lot of stuff relevant to you, even though it is turn-based rather than real-time.

Finally, you'll need artwork. Start banging out sprites if you have the skill & interest; otherwise, head on over to OpenGameArt.org, where you can find a lot of great free resources to get you started.

Good luck, and have fun!

3. Ryiah

Ryiah